TBR Challenge Placeholder

So it’s finals week, and I’m up to my unmentionables in grading, but that’s only part of why I have no review ready. You see, I did find a book, a holiday romance by a favorite author, that I bought as part of a spree and never read. But when I went to read it, I found myself being picky and dissatisfied. I grumbled and made notes about things that bothered me, which rarely happens with this author, and when I read over my notes, a lot of what I was griping about were basic genre conventions. So I decided this was a classic case of, “It’s not you, book, it’s me.” I put the book aside for another time and re-read some Dorothy Sayers instead.

I read Nine Tailors first, because I had it on my Kindle. Then I remembered that it’s been a while since I last checked to see which of her books had been made available digitally, and I was thrilled to find that all of the Lord Peter and Harriet Vane titles have been released. I only have a little time each night to read right now (did I mention finals?), but I’ve finished Strong Poison and am halfway through Have His Carcasse. Ages since I’ve read these, and even though I remember the surprise element in each one, the re-read is still enjoyable. So while not a real review, this is a recommendation — read or re-read what you’re on the mood for, regardless of what you think you’re supposed to read. If you like Sayers, I suggest a re-read. If you aren’t yet a Lord Peter Wimsey fan, I suggest you try a book and see.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. helenajust
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 02:03:54

    I frequently re-read Lord Peter Wimsey, especially the books including Harriet Vane. Did you know that the audiobooks are on Audible, too? They’re the old ones with Ian Carmichael – excellent for a long journey!
    Hope the grading goes well and that you get your mojo back soon.

    Reply

  2. SuperWendy
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 15:54:36

    Yeah, between the holidays and grading – that’s enough to put anyone out of sorts. It’s why I sometimes binge-read novellas in December. I’m tired, I’m cranky, I can really only handle something “short.” Re-reading would likely have the exact same effect – should I ever get over my crushing TBR Guilt, that’s something to try next December :)

    Reply

    • sonomalass
      Dec 19, 2013 @ 17:20:15

      I have some TBR guilt, but I have worse guilt when I feel like I’m not giving a book a fair chance. No book should have to overcome my finals week mood!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

