Disappointment: Science Fiction Fantasy Writers

I must express my extreme disappointment that some authors who I formerly admired and respected, and whose work I enjoyed, signed their names to the poorly thought-out petition presented to the Science Fiction Fantasy Writers of America by a former member. This individual clearly is ignorant about the actual meaning of the first amendment, and I am saddened that anyone would encourage his delusion or add their name to his hateful diatribe.

I am sure that some of these authors already regret their signature. I hope so. Until I see specific retractions, however, I will not be reading works by any of these writers:

Cyd Athens
Gregory Benford – Nebula winner
David Brin – Nebula winner, Past SFWA Secretary
Amy Sterling Casil
C. J. Cherryh
Lillian Csernica
Jack Dann – Nebula winner, former Bulletin Managing & Asst. Editor, past member of the Publicity Bureau, Nebula Rules Committee, and Grievance Committee; current member of the Anthology Committee
Harlan Ellison – Nebula winner, SFWA Grand Master, past SFWA V.P.
Sheila Finch – Nebula winner, past SFWA V.P, and Western Regional Director
David Gerrold – Nebula winner
Nancy Kress – Nebula winner
Mercedes Lackey
Dr. Paul Levinson – Past SFWA President
Barry N. Malzberg – Five time Nebula finalist, appearances in six of the annual Nebula volumes, editor of the Bulletin in 1969, Eastern Regional Director for two years in the late 70s and Grievance Committee 1980-1984.
Jack McDevitt – Nebula winner
Larry Niven – Nebula winner
Dr. Jerry Pournelle – Past SFWA President
Mike Resnick – Nebula winner, past SFWA ConAlert (8 yrs.) and Anthology
Chairman (6 yrs.)
Chuck Rothman – Past SFWA Treasurer
Susan Shwartz – Five-time Nebula nominee, member of Nebula Jury (2 years); on committee exploring reinstatement of film Nebula
Robert Silverberg – Nebula winner, SFWA Grand Master, Past SFWA President
Norman Spinrad – Past SFWA President (twice)
Allen Steele – Three time Nebula nominee, Past Eastern Regional Director
Brad R. Torgersen – Nebula nominee
Harry Turtledove – Double Nebula nominee, Past SFWA Treasurer
Gene Wolfe

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ann Somerville
    Feb 10, 2014 @ 21:25:01

    I am utterly gutted to see Robert SIlverberg associated with this rank nonsense.

    Reply

  2. Isobel Carr
    Feb 11, 2014 @ 13:07:32

    Right there with you, Ann. Silverberg didn’t just sign it, he’s been out and about defending it. I’m not sure I’ll ever be able to read Lord Valentine’s Castle again, and it was a major comfort read for me.

    Reply

  3. Lynnd
    Feb 11, 2014 @ 16:48:57

    I was so disappointed to see Mercedes Lackey and C.J. Cherryh. Although I haven’t read any of their recent books, I have so many of their older books on my keeper shelves. I was planning a bit of a purge of those shelves later this year and I suspect that most, if not all of their books will be taken to the UBS. Any future reread I might contemplate will be coloured by the words of that petition.

    Reply

  4. walterwart
    Feb 20, 2014 @ 10:12:09

    Very sad to see that list. Looks like I’ll be cancelling some orders for books by old favorites.

    Reply

  5. Allison
    Mar 02, 2014 @ 18:41:34

    I agree with those who signed the petition, and am delighted to see several of my favorite authors on the list, particularly Niven and Pournelle.

    Reply

    • sonomalass
      Mar 02, 2014 @ 23:03:45

      That’s certainly your prerogative. Orson Scott Card still sells a lot of books, too.

      Reply

      • Allison
        Mar 03, 2014 @ 16:53:00

        I’ve never read anything by Card – would you recommend him?

      • sonomalass
        Mar 03, 2014 @ 22:47:19

        As for Card, I really liked the first four books of his Alvin Maker series. Alas, he has made such a spectacle of himself that I can no longer enjoy his writing, because his hate-filled personal screeds intrude too much. YMMV, naturally.

  6. janethepleb
    Mar 03, 2014 @ 11:23:23

    Ah fabulous a blacklist I can implemement immediately and purge my bookshelves of the works of these misogynists and sister-punisher/gender-traitors. I shall be holding a book burning in due course, so if anyone would like to bring along their unwanted science fiction they will be most welcome. The last thing we want is for some pure minded child or young adult to read the vile work of these sexists.

    Reply

    • sonomalass
      Mar 03, 2014 @ 22:46:46

      Funny, I guess, if you think burning books is something to joke about. I don’t quite jump that far from “disappointed” (see title of post). I do think I’d rather give my hard-earned book dollars to authors who understand what the first amendment really says, though.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

