Wot I Read in January

Gosh this post is late. February is nearly half over! So far this has been a really busy year, and both reading and blogging have suffered. I only read ten full-length books last month, along with an anthology and a number of shorter works. (With some digital books, I’m not even sure what constitutes full-length anyway.)  The upside of that is that I only actually bought and read one new and one used book. I borrowed three from the library and three from friends, while I read four e-ARCs and downloaded three free reads from authors’ web sites. Since it was an expensive month in other ways (car repairs and registration, not to mention the new puppy), it was nice to have a month where Borders and Amazon didn’t get all my hard-earned money.

Historical Romance I only read three this month, two backlist titles and one new book.  They were all good.

More Than You Wished, by Jo Goodman, was my TBR challenge review for January. WIN

Mrs Drew Plays Her Hand, by Carla Kelly, borders on inspirational romance, and I think that’s what Kelly does best. As with her previous  books, the characters are basically really good people who have to suffer a lot to get together, and people around them suffer even more (death, illness, poverty). I liked the heroine’s determination to preserve her family and her honesty about sexual desire. WIN

The Lady Most Likely, by Julia Quinn, Eloisa James, and Connie Brockway, was a delightful book. I like all three authors’ work, and I thought they did a terrific job of combining their characters and their stories into a single book. I’m sure that was a lot more difficult that just writing individual novellas; I hope they feel that the effort was worthwhile.  WIN

Contemporary Romance

The Guy Next Door is an anthology containing stories by Lori Foster, Susan Donovan, and Victoria Dahl. I’ve never encountered a Foster book that I wanted to read, I liked the one Donovan I read before, and Victoria Dahl is on my auto-buy list.  These shorter pieces pretty much confirmed my position on all three of those.  The Foster story, “Ready, Set, Jett,” was okay, but I just didn’t get into it all the way. For one thing, I didn’t really feel that there was anything seriously keeping the characters apart; they didn’t have much to overcome except a little personal idiocy. I’ll be honest and say that the “I only wanted sex and now I have feelings that confuse me” plot doesn’t often work for me.  Donovan’s “Gail’s Gone Wild” was a cute story, but the mother in me had trouble sitting back to enjoy it. While I love the idea that the mother of a teenager deserves a spring fling if she wants one, I kept worrying that the teenagers were going to get into trouble due to her rather lax supervision. YMMV big time on this one.  Dahl’s “Just One Taste” was my favorite story of the three, even though it’s a prequel to her upcoming series. It’s sexy and fun, and I wasn’t disappointed by the lack of a traditional happy ending, because it’s obvious the story between these two characters is far from over. For a reader not necessarily planning to read that series, I can see how it might be frustrating, but it wasn’t for me.  Overall, this collection gets a PASS.

Dream a Little Dream and Ain’t She Sweet, by Susan Elizabeth Phillips, are the first books I’ve read by this author. [I know, I know, but remember that I didn’t read romance AT ALL in the 1990s and early 2000s.] Both were good, but I liked the second one just a little bit better — both the hero and heroine were more to my taste, and the overall story was more believable. WIN

Forever (Rules of the Game and Heart’s Victory) by Nora Roberts, is a re-release of two of her category romances, both having to do with sports. Rules of the Game features a baseball player (a third baseman!) and the woman directing him in a series of television commercials. As usual, the specific setting of the book is detailed and involving; Roberts does her homework, and it shows even in a short book. She plays around with stereotypes about cocky star athletes and temperamental creative types, and it was a WIN for me. The other book, set in the world of professional car racing, seemed familiar to me, and a few chapters from the end, I realized that I had definitely read it before. That’s where I stopped, because I remembered that the ending made me angry last time. DNF

Prince Charming of Harley Street, by Anne Fraser, is from the Harlequin Medical line. It struck me the same way that Carla Kelly’s did, in that the hero and heroine are both extremely good and nice, and they would get together easily and naturally without the external obstacle (in this case, a brain aneurysm) threatening their future. PASS

“Colters’ Wife” and Colters’ Daughter, by Maya Banks, were both free reads. The first is the author’s free epilogue to Colters’ Woman; I downloaded it and read it as background to the longer story that I received from the author as an ARC. I hadn’t read the previous Colter books because I rarely read ménage romance; it’s hard for me to believe that the sharing works, particularly when multiple men are involved and they do not sexually encounter/enjoy each other. Since the arrangement has already been worked out, I was able to enjoy “Colters’ Wife” not as a romance but as an interesting family story. Colters’ Daughter intrigued me because the heroine specifically does not want the kind of shared-partner arrangement in which she was raised.  She is a “one-man woman,” very much so because she is a sexual submissive.  I liked the book but didn’t love it, mostly because I didn’t think the hero had to work hard enough to regain the heroine’s trust after lying to her. This is often a problem for me in Harlequin Presents, too,  where the heroes have LOTS of money and sometimes spend their way to forgiveness. PASS

Fantasy/Urban Fantasy/Paranormal Romance I’m putting these all together because there’s a lot of cross-over; all the fantasy I read this month was either urban or romance.

Stone Kissed, by Keri Stevens, is a paranormal romance very much to my taste. There’s a vampire, but that’s the villain. The heroine has an unusual power — stone statues talk to her, and how that works and how it complicates and enriches her life is all developed really well. The romance is sexy and challenging for both partners, there are some wonderful trust issues to resolve, and neither the relationship resolution nor the adventure plot gets short-changed.  WIN

“Ember” by Betty Sharpe was free from the author’s web site, and I’m looking forward to paying for some of her work. This is a nicely erotic re-envisioning of the Cinderella story; I’m a sucker for retold fairy tales, and this one was wonderful at turning so many of the familiar elements on their heads. WIN

Evangeline, by Gwen Williams, is also an erotic fairy tale, but it didn’t work nearly as well for me. The writing was a little repetitive, particularly the erotic/romantic portions. I honestly wasn’t very invested in the lovers as a couple.  The suspense plot depended too much on the reader being kept in the dark for my taste.  PASS

“Future Tense” by Carolyn Jewel is free on the author’s web site. It’s a short story in her ongoing Witches series, which is one of my very favorite paranormal romance series. (I wrote about my taste in PNR, and about Carolyn’s series, among others, here, and about the latest book in the series here.) This short story features two really strong characters with powerful chemistry between them; it is a good addition to the series, even at this shorter length. WIN

Blood and Iron, by Elizabeth Bear, is a very good piece of urban fantasy. She’s an excellent writer, and she explores her variation of the dark and light sides of Faery, and the complex interaction between our world and Faery, in an original and engrossing way.  While I didn’t love this book quite as much as I did the two Promethean books set in the Elizabethan age, it was still a great read. WIN

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Wendy
    Feb 13, 2011 @ 11:02:31

    I’ve heard nothing but wonderful things about Mrs. Drew Plays Her Hand, and naturally there it sits in my TBR. Sigh. I really need to dig out at least one Kelly for the TBR Challenge this year. I have scads of them!

    Lori Foster is one of those authors that I find mildly entertaining in short story format – but the two full-length novels I read by her made me want to put my fist through a wall. I don’t know if it was just my dumb luck that both featured idiot heroines – but after two books I didn’t like the odds.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

