DABWAHA

It’s March, and that means madness! I’m excited for the fourth year of DABWAHA, the Dear Author Bitchery Writing Award for Hellagood Authors, put on by the amazing Jane of Dear Author and Sarah of Smart Bitches, Trashy Books. Mirroring the college basketball tournament, 64 books go head-to-head in single elimination voting, eventually leading to a winner.  Every year it seems that I have read more of the books competing, which makes it harder to pick my favorites. Plus there are prizes for accurately predicting the winners, and I’m always torn between predicting with my heart and with my head.

This year the eight categories are Historical Romance, Contemporary Romance, GLBT Romance, Series Romance,  Sc-Fi/Fantasy/Paranormal Romance, Young Adult, Novella/Short Story, and Cross-Over. There will be eight books in each, all published in 2010.  At least one book in each group is selected in a popularity contest this year, while the rest are chosen by Sarah and Jane with input from other reviewers. The books are paired up against each other in brackets.  The last three years I had not read either of the two final books or most of the final four, and my overall picks weren’t very good. I actually tried to pick books I thought OTHER people would vote for (accepting that I’m often a minority taste), but that didn’t work very well either.  Fortunately it’s all so much fun that I don’t really care (although the prizes — did I mention prizes? — get better every year).

For what it’s worth, here are the books in each category. They all have Amazon.com “buy” links, because I copied them straight from the tournament site. The ones I’ve read are followed by a link to my comments about them. The titles not in italics were selected by reader voting.  I have some of these books in my TBR pile, and I’ll be hoping to read some of them before the voting gets too far along. Bracket selection is this Sunday. The first round of voting starts March 15.

Contemporary Romance

Historical

Sci-Fi/Fantasy/Paranormal

Series

GLBT

Young Adult

Crossover

Novella/Short Story


2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Liz
    Mar 13, 2011 @ 11:40:32

    I can never organize myself to actually participate but love to watch. I was really impressed by the reader choices. Usually ‘popularity contest’ nominations are kind of bland and predictable, but I really enjoyed all of these I have read (including Sara Creasy’s Song of Scarabaeus, one of my favorite books read so far this year). Good readers those blogs have.

    Reply

    • SonomaLass
      Mar 13, 2011 @ 20:30:34

      Liz,
      I am terrible at predicting the winners, but it’s a lot of fun anyway. This year I’ve read 25 percent of the books; better than in previous years, but I’m still shooting in the dark, for the most part. I’m looking forward to Sara Creasy’s book; another challenge is trying to predict which of the books I have TBR will make it past round one!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

