DABWAHA Final Four

Voting is this weekend between the Final Four competitors in the March Madness of romance reading. My bracket, and my second chance bracket, are both totally destroyed at this point. As usual, may I add. So now I just get to say hurrah for all the great books that were released last year, and here are my thoughts about the ones remaining:

Winning Region 1, historical romance and crossover novels: Trial by Desire by Courtney Milan. I love this authors smart romances; I particularly appreciate how her characters deal with challenges that, while different in the Victoria Age than our own, are still ones we face today. I wrote about it here.

Winning Region 2, novella/short story and category romance: “No Strings Attached” by Jaci Burton. I haven’t read anything by this author, but I’m obviously out of the loop. I wanted to read this story, but the anthology is trade paper, so the ebook is $13. Um, no.  I loved the cover of her latest book and have it TBR, however.

Winning Region 3, paranormal romance and young adult romance: Archangel’s Kiss by Nalini Singh. I really enjoyed this book; balance of power in romance is important to me, and this book addresses it throughout. I wrote about it here.

Winning Region 4, contemporary romance and LGBTQ romance: Something About You by Julie James. This book made James an auto-buy author for me; a great romance, between intelligent adults, with an opening scene that may be the best EVER in a contemporary romance novel.

I expect both the semi-finals to be hard-fought contests, and of course the championship round will be wild. Don’t miss it!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. CupK8
    Apr 02, 2011 @ 05:41:20

    I’m always surprised by which books continue on to the finals, because it’s never what books were predicted. Seriously! I’m still flabbergasted that Iron Duke isn’t in that group.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

