Holiday TBR Challenge: Regency Christmas Proposals

My book for this month is an anthology of three stories published last Christmas by Harlequin. I have to admit that I haven’t read the third one yet (hey, it’s finals week here), but I enjoyed the first two. The Soldier’s Christmas Miracle, by Gayle Wilson, is an interesting twist on the wounded soldier theme. Snowbound and Seduced, by Amanda McCabe, is a delightful second-chance story. Both are long enough to develop the characters and their relationships in levels of conflict appropriate for the shorter length. Despite the anthology title, I didn’t feel that these stories were really about proposing — which was fine with me! In real life I often find that the fuss made about the proposal, and subsequently the wedding, is inversely proportional to the real value of the marriage. As I have asked more than one young couple seeking advice, “Do you want to GET married, or do you want to BE married? They aren’t the same thing.” I was pleased that both of these stories took the relationship seriously, not just the a popping of the question.

Leave a Reply

