RITA Nominee Congratulations

Today the finalists for the Romance Writers of America RITA and Golden Heart awards were announced, to many huzzahs in the romance writing community. I am pleased to see some books on the list that I read and loved, none that I feel are undeserving, and many that I have not read but will now seek out. (For a couple, I have only to go as far as the unread section of my e-reader….) Yes, the books here that I own but have not read actually outnumber the books I’ve finished. And some that I want to own but don’t are a casualty of so-called “agency” pricing of ebooks. Here is something like a list:

Historical Romance

Unveiled, by Courtney Milan. Read it, loved it, talked about it here.

Haven’t read but have been intending to:

Black Hawk, by Joanna Bourne. I tend to save Jo’s romances for when I really need to read something guaranteed to be good, and so they languish while I read other things. I said when this book was facing off with Unveiled in DABWAHA that I would at last permit myself to read it. And I will.

The Many Sins of Lord Cameron, by Jennifer Ashley. I loved the books before this in the series. It is a book I will definitely be reading.

Scandalous Desires, by Elizabeth Hoyt. I liked the previous books in this series, and I own this one. I haven’t read it yet because it is a paper book. Not the best reason, I know.

Silk Is for Seduction, by Loretta Chase. I have never met a Chase novel I didn’t like.

Regency Historical Romance

Lady Sophie’s Christmas Wish, by Grace Burrowes. Burrowes is one of my sister’s favorite romance authors. I find her books problematic in regards to historical accuracy/anachronism, but they never fail to enthrall me; her characters love passionately, and I find myself wondering if they really will find a way to overcome the things that separate them — that’s some kind of litmus test for me, I think.

A Night to Surrender, by Tessa Dare, one of my favorite Regency authors. I reviewed this on Goodreads.

When Beauty Tamed the Beast, by Eloisa James, features a hero based on Hugh Laurie’s Dr. House and was a WIN for me when I read it.

Novel with Strong Romantic Elements

Song of the Nile, is Stephanie Dray’s second novel about Selene, Cleopatra’s daughter. I liked the first one, but haven’t read the sequel yet.

The Rose Garden, by Susanna Kearsley, is on my short list. I have promised to review it for the RITA Reader Reviews at Smart Bitches.

Contemporary Series Romance

Doukakis’s Apprentice, by Sarah Morgan. This was a Smart Bitches Book Club pick, but I never got around to reading it. I will now. I enjoyed the other book I read by this author, and I got a big kick out of the videos she made for DABWAHA.

Paranormal Romance

Archangel’s Blade by Nalini Singh, is a wonderful book. I reviewed it over on Goodreads.

Lord of the Abyss by Nalini Singh, is also on Goodreads.

Nightfall, by Ellen Connor, is a collaboration between two authors whose work I really like, Ann Aguirre and Carrie Lofty. Just haven’t gotten to it yet.

Congratulations to all the finalists! And good reading to all of us who are now adding these books to our lists.

Leave a Reply

