Are We On the Same Page?

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about where and how I enjoy discussing the books I read with other people. For various reasons, I haven’t felt like I had good discussion lately; I have felt that my reading is out of synch with the various blogs I follow, and I’ve wondered how to fix that. Twitter is great, but again, I often haven’t read the book under discussion, and there isn’t time to do that and then engage, because the conversation has moved on. Book clubs are great for that; everyone reading the same book at the same time creates fruitful ground for discussion. But there are deadlines, and rules, and schedules, and commitments — I have enough of that in my professional and family life, and so do most readers I know. Reading is recreational, and talking about books is something we do because we enjoy the exchange of ideas and insights, and too much commitment or scheduling can take all the fun out of it.

So here’s what I’m going to try. Below I have listed the books that I plan to read, or have recently read and plan to review, in the next few months. If one or more of those titles is one you’re interested in reading and talking about, leave a comment to that effect. (I’m likely to prioritize those books, to be honest.) When I post my reactions, I will tag the tweet with “#onthesamepage.” I’ll do my best to let you know that I have posted, so that you can come comment, and we can have a discussion.

I invite others to use the same idea — post your list of books you plan to read, and share widely when you’ve done so and are ready to host discussion. I envision this, if it intrigues folks, as something that spans multiple blogs as a feature, without necessarily needing central coordination. It’s just a way of creating opportunities for discussion.

Huge thanks to the lovely Sunita, who helped me thrash this out and made me think others might be interested.

Here’s my near-future TBR, as far as I know:

Any Duchess Will Do, by Tessa Dare. I already finished this, but I’ll be re-reading it for a review nearer the May 28 release date. Also, Beauty and the Blacksmith, a novella by the same author, which is released tomorrow and I have pre-ordered.

Ghost Planet, by Sharon Lynn Fisher. This book caught my attention because it’s the April selection for Felicia Day’s Vaginal Fantasy Hangout book club. I don’t participate, but I love the idea and this book intrigued me.

A Woman Entangled, by Cecilia Grant. Has a release date in late June, and I will be reviewing it. And you all should be reading it.

The Rebound Girl by Tamara Morgan, released May 13. Another one I’ve already read and am excited to talk about; the heroine is a blast of fresh air, and the hero teaches kindergarten. Need I say more?

The Sword Dancer, by Jeannie Lin. May 21 release. These Tang Dynasty historical romances are always a welcome change of pace for me.

Freefall, by Jill Sorenson. May 28 release, the sequel to Aftershock. I understand that this book is written to stand alone, but I’m happy that it follows the characters who most intrigued me in the earlier book.

Sweet Revenge, by Zoë Archer. Her first book with a new publisher, to be published June 4.

Edited to add: These release dates are not the dates my reviews would be posted, but rather the earliest that most of us could read the book. So look for my posts a week or two after that, especially if I know that others are reading, too.

What about you? Have anything planned to read in the next couple of months that you’d like to discuss with other readers? Let us know, so we can be on the same page.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Brie C. (@racblog)
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 04:19:31

    This is a great idea! I have plans to read most of the books on the list, and I have already read The Rebound Girl, so count me in. I have lots to say about that one 😉

    Reply

  2. Las
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 05:14:52

    I’ve been waiting for The Rebound Girl since I first heard about it a few months ago. I’m bad at planning reads; the only other definite is the latest Nalini Singh, because the Psy/Changeling series owns me.

    Reply

  3. victoriajanssen
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 06:00:38

    I’ve read A WOMAN ENTANGLED and would enjoy a discussion of it. ANY DUCHESS WILL DO is on my list as well.

    Reply

  4. sonomalass
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 09:18:21

    This is great! Thanks, ladies. I’ll be planning The Rebound Girl post for late May; I have to work around finals and traveling, but it will happen. Any Duchess Will Do should be in the middle of June, and A Woman Entangled in early July, I guess.

    Reply

  5. Phyl
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 16:34:27

    This sounds fun. I hadn’t heard of The Rebound Girl, but I will be watching for it now. I don’t normally plan out my reading, but I’ll try to keep up with as many of these as I can.

    Reply

    • sonomalass
      Apr 30, 2013 @ 18:33:09

      I’m not in the habit of planning, either. But I keep seeing people talking about a book that I know I want to read, wishing I’d already read it so I could join the conversation. Or I say I like a book, and several people say they intend to read it, but they haven’t yet so, again, no conversation. I’m hoping this will be a really casual way to synchronize some reading and discussion.

      Reply

  6. Trackback: RISE FROM YOUR GRAVE | The Romantic Goldfish
  7. Trackback: On The Same Page | Something More
  8. Trackback: The Sword Dancer, Jeannie Lin | Something More

Leave a Reply

